IAFF to Add 157 Fallen IAFF Members to Wall of Honor

September 20, 2013

To: All Members of Local 867

From: Alex Forrest, President

Alex Forrest and members of the Executive of Local 867 are currently in Colorado Springs, Colorado to attend the 27th Annual IAFF Fallen Fire Fighter Memorial service, which will be broadcast live via streaming video on Saturday, September 21. The ceremony in Colorado Springs, Colorado, officially begins at 1:00 p.m. Mountain Time.

Watch the ceremony by clicking here.

At this year’s memorial service, the IAFF will add 157 fallen fire fighters from the United States and Canada to the Wall of Honor and this includes two Winnipeg Fire Fighters, George C. McLean and David W. McCorriston.

The IAFF members being honored this year died in the line of duty between June 1, 2012, and June 1, 2013. In addition, IAFF members who died prior to June 1, 2012, but were reported during the past year, also will be honored.

The names of the 19 fire fighters who perished June 30 while battling the Yarnell Hill wildfire in Prescott, Arizona, will be added to the Wall in 2014.

The IAFF and Colorado Springs Local 5 are committed to making the Fallen Fire Fighter Memorial ceremony an uplifting experience for the families, friends and loved ones that celebrates the lives, heroism and accomplishments of those who made the ultimate sacrifice.

A complete list of fallen fire fighters to be added to the Wall of Honor is here.

For more information, click here.

With the addition this year of 157 fallen fire fighters who made the ultimate sacrifice, the Wall of Honor will include 2,808 members who have died in the line of duty since 1976.